Resolution Friendly Peanut Butter Cookies

As much as I love being home, spending with family and old friends, it always comes as somewhat of a relief to return elsewhere.  The holidays are crazy for everyone, but especially those who have to travel during them.  A week home is often a marathon of drinking, baking, catching up, drinking, gift-wrapping, drinking, shopping, and drinking.  It’s exhausting and can wear a gal down.

I was fortunate enough to return home with something I picked up from an old friend (probably) and was bed ridden for a week.  Too sick to bake, too sick to work, and too sick to enjoy being back at my own place.  I was also too sick to do anything for New Year’s in New York, for the second year in a row.  I’ve never been a giant fan of New Year’s, but I would like to have at least one in New York that I don’t spend on the couch watching movies, asleep before midnight.

I’ve also never been much for resolutions.  Nobody really keeps them and they just make you feel bad about yourself.  Instead, I like to set small, reachable goals for myself throughout the course of the entire year.  This is especially helpful for avoiding crowded gyms.  However, I know a lot of people who do make resolutions, and they’re usually along the lines of ‘eat healthier’ and ‘exercise more.’  So folks, this one’s for you.

This recipe actually came about because my brother started dating a vegan, and I got to meet her over the holidays.  She’s a pretty cool chick, and I like the idea of cool chicks reading my blog and making my brother happy.  So without further ado, I present to you: no butter, no flour, no oil, no egg, no gluten, but still AMAZINGLY delicious, 4 step

Resolution-friendly Peanut Butter Cookies 18ish cookies

Adapted from http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/dessert/internet-sensation-the-noflour-nobutter-peanut-butter-cookies-revisited-080693

Ingredients

1 C peanut butter (see note)

3/4 C turbinado, or raw sugar

1/4 C brown sugar

Half a banana (if you’re not vegan and don’t like bananas, use 1 egg)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp vanilla

6 ingredients

Method

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees°F.

2. Mix all the ingredients up in a bowl.

3.Roll walnut-sized pieces into balls and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Feel free to flatten slightly with a fork in a crisscross pattern, as is customary for peanut butter cookies. I forgot to do this, and it did not affect the taste.

dough!

4. Bake for 10 minutes. Let cool before removing from baking sheet.

healthy cookie!

Note: Peanut butter comes in all kinds of configurations and the kind you choose will influence your outcome. Some peanut butters are very sweet, some have been hydrogenated, some have a whole lot more in them than peanuts! Then there is the chunky versus smooth debate. I used a natural smooth version that literally was just peanuts and salt.  If you use a peanut butter like Jif or Skippy, your cookies will be sweeter but your waste line will not.

Seriously, these cookies are too easy, too delicious, and too healthy to pass up.  Give them to someone on a diet as a helpful little gift.  It allows them a sweet treat without feeling too indulgent.

Also, since I was sick last week and did not post, I’m doing two this week.  Next up, another delicious granola!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

