Earl Grey Ice Cream

i present to you another breakfast appropriate ice cream ©Tim Romero

Because we need more refined ice cream.  Because it is damn hot outside and it’s only going to get hotter.  And because I love you.  Meet Earl Grey.

©Tim Romero

Charming, subtly seductive, and easier than a drunk teen on prom night.  At first I couldn’t decide what kind of tea to use for this recipe, then I tasted the earl grey ice cream by Van Leeuwen and sugar, was I sold hard.

©Tim Romero

And yet, this creamy cup of delicious falls just short of perfection.  Because perfection has music…bluesy, sultry music.  And alcohol…shaken with ice, poured into a chilled glass, and rimmed with flavored sugar.  Plus, let’s face it, I can’t just make ice cream for the rest of that summer.  Where would my love handles be come Halloween?

So I’m doing a giveaway.  One happy little lamb will receive enough of next week’s recipe for 2 and a CD by the lovely, sexy, sultry, Audra Mae.  If you’re in the New York area, your prize might just be hand delivered by yours truly.  Provided you don’t mind sharing – if you’re extra nice maybe I’ll bring a little extra.

this CD makes me a very happy lamb

To enter, leave a comment telling me your favorite happy hour music and I will randomly select one.  And now back to ice cream.

Earl Grey Tea Ice Cream
makes about 1 quart

Ingredients
1 cup whole milk
2 cups heavy cream
½ cup honey
5-6 Earl Grey tea bags, or tea bags of your choice
- if you are using loose tea, it’s about 4 tbsp.
5 egg yolks

  • Warm the milk and honey in a saucepan. Remove from heat, place tea bags in the pan, cover and steep for roughly an hour. Remove tea bags or strain out the tea leaves.
  • Place tea-infused milk over medium-low heat. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, whisk egg yolk until lighter yellow and frothy.  To temper the yolks, pour in a tablespoon of milk at a time.  Feel the bowl for warmth.  When the egg yolks are warmed, slowly pour the milk and egg mixture into the saucepan, whisking constantly.
  • Heat until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.
  • Chill the mixture in the refridgerator for at least 8 hours, then freeze in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you can use plastic zip top bags.  Fill a gallon-size bag with ice and a tsp of salt.  Put the milk mixture in another, smaller zip top bag and place inside the ice.  Churn it by moving the bag around with your hands.  Takes about 30 minutes. Or you can do this.

**UPDATE**  The winner of the CD and taste of tomorrow’s recipe is Sarah – Girl, get your ass over here and drink with me!

The runners up, who will receive enough of tomorrow’s recipe for 2 (because it’s happy hour) are Sam  and Anna- Give me your address ladies.  Hit me up with a facebook message.

11 thoughts on “Earl Grey Ice Cream

  1. My favorite happy hour music is currently the Crookers album “Tons of Friends” :) and whyyy haven’t I used my ice ream maker yet with all these yummy recipes you’re giving me? Perhaps this weekend …

  2. Jazz or Jazz Fusion (Steely Dan acceptable) : Goes down good with shaken Martinis.

    Thanks for making me work for this.

  3. That is so hard!
    The answer today is Van Halen. A beer and Van Halen could get me through the rest of just about any day. None of that Hagar crap though, Diamond Dave all the way!

  4. This is slightly embarrassing but I’m going to go with something super cheesy and dance-ish like Jamiroquai or Head Automatica. Please keep in mind that it’s not my favorite music in general, but it never fails to pump me up after work while I’m shakin’ my booty.

    That earl grey ice cream was considerably more delicious than any other ice cream I’ve ever eaten.

  5. i really want to enter but happy hour music is such an intimate detail! breathe. i’ve always loved weezer (specifically “say it ain’t so”), kings of leon has been a favorite since college, muse has the energy and the current flash in the pan (oooh, cooking reference, HA!) is florence and the machine. can i get the cheddar biscuits with a side of earl grey ice cream??

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

