Wyatt’s Granola

When I come home to Memphis I like to take advantage of my parents’ enormous kitchen (which is approximately the size of my entire apartment) and willingness to buy ingredients.

I originally intended to come home and bake up a storm – a buttery, flour-y, sugar-fueled storm.  Then I baked one batch of cupcakes (which is a whole ‘nother post) and became immensely frustrated when I realized how spoiled I have become from owning a stand mixer.  Hand mixers certainly serve a purpose in some applications, but not for cupcakes, frostings, or anything else that requires creaming tons of butter and sugar to light, fluffy cloud of happy.  So I’m opting for the easy way out – no special hardware required, and healthy upon request of a quite amazing young artist currently residing in the Chicago area, Wyatt Grant.  I suspect you will see him on the cover of Art News one day in the not too distant future.

My parent’s house is also pretty close to a pretty amazing ‘gourmet’ grocery store armed to the teeth with fancy pants food-stuffs.  I got most of the ingredients for this granola here, except for the Costco-sized bottle of honey and vegetable oil.  Generally I would say get whatever brand or quality level your budget allows, but for a recipe with so few ingredients, it really is more tasty when you have the good stuff.

the good stuff

Wyatt (Earp)’s Granola

Except for the stirring, this is a ridiculously easy recipe.  I suspect you could even forgo the 15 minute intervals and stirring while cooling if you prefer clumpy granola, which I do.  For anyone who prefers a lighter Christmas morning breakfast, this recipe is it!  Slightly sweet with a hint of cinnamon and a harmonious ratio of nuts to fruit, this granola is sure to be a crowd pleaser, or selfishly coveted over Greek style or plain yogurt.

Ingredients

4 c toasted whole grain cereal with raisins, dates, and almonds (such as Mueslix – I used some fancy pants organic brand from Fresh Market)

3 c old fashioned oats

1 c coarsely chopped walnuts

1 c sliced almonds

¾ c coarsely chopped hazelnuts

½ c honey

¼ c vegetable oil

1/3 c dried blueberries

1/3 c dried sweetened cranberries (Craisins, unless you’re shopping at Fresh Market)

1/3 c golden raisins

1 tsp ground cinnamon

¼ c turbinado (raw sugar)

Application

  1. Preheat oven to 275F.  Throw the cereal, oats, and nuts together and mix them up on a big sheet pan, preferably with sides.
  2. Put the honey and oil in a saucepan and bring it just to boiling; drizzle it over the soon-to-be delicious granola mixture and toss to coat as evenly as you can get it.  Stick this in the oven and bake until golden brown and dry, stirring about every 15 minutes.  It will be about an hour and a half, so there’s about 6 fifteen minute intervals.

    drizzled and ready for some oven lovin

  3. Remove from oven and scatter the dried fruit over the oats and sprinkle cinnamon and turbinado over the whole shebang.  If you think the sugar will be too sweet, feel free to omit it.  I sampled it pre-sugar and it wasn’t as sweet as I like, but I have a sweet tooth.

    dried things

    I could not believe how big the raisins were - that's my pinky. Seriously, get the good stuff for this recipe.

  4. Cool completely in pan, stirring occaisionally to prevent clumping…or, you know, not, fifteen minute intervals is kind of a lot.
  5. Store in an airtight container for up to two weeks, but I doubt it will last that long.

    coolin off

    The great this about any granola recipe is that if you don’t like one of the ingredients, you simply swap it our for another you do like.  I would like to try this with dried cherries, pecans, apricots…the possibilities are really pretty endless.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Wyatt’s Granola

Leave a Reply

